Sunday, 29 March 2015

Weekly Highlights: the 'April TBR' edition

Weekly Highlights is a feature borrowed from Faye of A Daydreamer's Thoughts, where I get to highlight my posts of the week, show you my new books and talk about bookish things!

I might have forgotten to post this last week, oops! Anyway, I've been really good and haven't bought any new books (just stolen some from the staff room) and I'm blasting through my TBR so I'm feeling pretty good! In work news, I'm doing so much overtime, I'm nearly more than full time but my bank balance sure does appreciate the money, even if my feet don't. Since I haven't done a W.H for a couple of weeks, below are links to my favourite posts, not all of them.

On The Blog
Review of Crown of Midnight and Heir of Fire by Sarah J Maas (5 stars)
Event write up of UKYA Blogger Awards
Review of Dodger by Terry Pratchett (4 stars)
Review of Trouble by Non Pratt (5 stars)

Currently Reading
New Girl by Paige Harbison - an old ebook title that has been gathering dust, but I'm finally finding out what all the fuss was about!

On My Bookshelf
I'll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson
From the author of The Sky Is Every­where, a radiant novel that will leave you laughing and crying - all at once. For fans of John Green, Gayle Forman and Lauren Oliver. Jude and her twin Noah were incredibly close - until a tragedy drove them apart, and now they are barely speaking. Then Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy as well as a captivating new mentor, both of whom may just need her as much as she needs them. What the twins don't realize is that each of them has only half the story and if they can just find their way back to one another, they have a chance to remake their world. 

Due out over here 2nd April, this will be Waterstones Loves for the month. It sounds really good and I've seen it around the blogosphere so I've borrowed the staff room copy.

The Last Leaves Falling by Sarah Benwell
And these are they. My final moments. They say a warrior must always be mindful of death, but I never imagined that it would find me like this . . .

Japanese teenager, Sora, is diagnosed with ALS (Lou Gehrig's disease). Lonely and isolated, Sora turns to the ancient wisdom of the samurai for guidance and comfort. But he also finds hope in the present; through the internet he finds friends that see him, not just his illness. This is a story of friendship and acceptance, and testing strength in an uncertain future.

My colleague was sent this and has let me read it first, so thank you Jess! This has been on my radar for a while and I can't wait to see what's it all about.

The Accidental Life of Jessie Jefferson by Paige Toon
Meet Jessie, the daughter of Johnny Jefferson, as featured in 'Johnny Be Good' and 'Baby Be Mine'. Her 15th birthday turned out to be the worst day of her life when her mum was killed in a freak accident on her way to pick up her cake. Even when there was still no sign of her over two hours later, and her friends started to arrive at her house, it never occurred to her that she wouldn't be coming back. That was six months ago. Her mum died without telling her who her real dad was. Jessie thought she had taken the secret of her father's identity with her forever. But she didn't.

I did something bad and bought books when I went out for new clothes. Along with my first Paige Toon, I also got City of Heavenly Fire, so I can finally marathon The Mortal Instrument, and Into The Still Blue for my collection.

Nowhere But Here by Katie McGarry
Seventeen-year-old Emily likes her life the way it is: doting parents, good friends, good school in a safe neighborhood. Sure, she's curious about her biological father—the one who chose life in a motorcycle club, the Reign of Terror, over being a parent—but that doesn't mean she wants to be a part of his world. But when a reluctant visit turns to an extended summer vacation among relatives she never knew she had, one thing becomes clear: nothing is what it seems. Not the club, not her secret-keeping father and not Oz, a guy with suck-me-in blue eyes who can help her understand them both. 

Oz wants one thing: to join the Reign of Terror. They're the good guys. They protect people. They're…family. And while Emily—the gorgeous and sheltered daughter of the club's most respected member—is in town, he's gonna prove it to her. So when her father asks him to keep her safe from a rival club with a score to settle, Oz knows it's his shot at his dream. What he doesn't count on is that Emily just might turn that dream upside down. 

No one wants them to be together. But sometimes the right person is the one you least expect, and the road you fear the most is the one that leads you home.

I requested a copy of this a month ago but it must have gotten lost in the post, but it has just appeared on Netgalley! I can't pass up the new Katie McGarry, so thank you MiraInk!

April TBR
Apart from the aforementioned books, I will continue to work through my kindle backlog, starting with The Rain by Virginia Bergin. I've got a couple of blog tours to read and review, so look out for those, and I'm hoping I can marathon TMI this month at last too. Upcoming releases I'm looking forward to include Rogue by Julie Kagawa, which is due out early May, and All I Know Now by Carrie Hope Fletcher, due 23rd April.

1 comment:

  1. Psst. If you're reading backlogs of books, you should join Spring Clean Your TBR! :D *just saying*

    ALSO... I'm very much intrigued to know what you think of The Rain. DM me maybe? ;) - Faye